Film #20 of 2013

IMDB Rating: 5.9/10

A Texas teenager cuts her hair short and becomes an outlaw martyr with her brother and friends.

I don’t know how I ever missed this movie! It is a very underrated 80’s film that no one ever talks about and I am not sure why that is.

I would have thought it would have come up somewhere in my life, considering I am a huge fan of Michael Jackson and his song “Billie Jean.” His song came out in 1982 and this film came out in 1985, I wonder if the film was somehow inspired by the song… I also was a big fan of Christian Slater and thought I saw most of his films. He was really young in this film and sports blonde locks.

It is wild that both he and Helen Slater play brother and sister because they both have the same last name. How often does that happen! Of course in real life there is no relation.

I haven’t seen Helen Slater in very many films and I am not sure why she didn’t become a bigger star (or last longer while she was shinning bright) because I think she is talented and has a great look. She does a great job of looking innocent but holding a lot of fire behind her eyes. She starred in one of my favorite childhood films – Supergirl. I don’t believe this film did well at the box office, it was relesaed before I was born, but I always enjoyed it.

Currently Helen is starring in one of my favorite TV shows – The Lying Game.

Billie Jean is a girl who believes in justice, and demands it from the man who wanted to take advantage of her. The movie deals with the way Billie Jean goes about fighting for what is right, fair is fair as she says repeatedly in the movie. In getting her revenge against all odds, she becomes an instant celebrity to the young population in the area. They easily identify with the wronged girl and make her a folk hero.

The Legend of Billie Jean is different from the other films of the decade, because it is about female empowerment.  Like other 80’s films it features a killer theme song (Pat Benetar’s “Invincible”), and fashion (I love the way they had all the girls in the movie following Billie Jean’s style.) It is Joan of Arc in the 1980’s! She watched the film Joan of Arc and is inspired to cut her hair off. She even burns like Joan of Arch metaphorically near the end of the film, through her merchandise booth!

Feel good movie. Recommend for nostalgia purposes.

8/10

Leave a Reply

