The Following centers around busted ex-FBI agent Ryan Hardy (Kevin Bacon) who is called back to duty when his nemesis, former literature professor Joe Carroll (James Purefoy), escapes from prison as the first move in a series of games designed for Hardy and utilizing his network of followers.

When I first heard about Fox’s new serial killer drama, The Following, I was intrigued. I kept saying to myself, should I watch that new Kevin Bacon show? I thought it would be a CSI type crime drama show. I don’t usually like FBI type shows (the only one I really watch is White Collar) so I wasn’t really sure it would be up my alley until I found out that Kevin Williamson was behind it. I am a huge Scream fan and I always enjoy anything he is behind. He is also the mastermind behind Scream, Dawson’s Creek, and The Vampire Diaries, just to name a few. The show reminds me a lot of the Scream films, not just for the obvious serial killer plot, but the way it is shot, the suspense, the seemingly normal people being killers, and the inside look at these people. It is just as violent as the Scream films as well, there are many scenes that involve knives. This week there was a scene that reminded me of when Billy and Stew had to stab each other, this one just involved a husband and wife.

Kevin Bacon in The Following

Carroll was a spectacularly successful college professor who held his classes spellbound with lectures about Thoreau, Emerson, and most crucially, Edgar Allan Poe. Carol is himself a “follower” – of  Poe’s work. He leaves Poe clues at the scenes of the crimes, such as scrawling the word “Nevermore” in blood on a wall, just so Ryan can yell triumphantly, “’The Raven!’”

Featured Image

This is a new TV show I am really excited about because it keeps getting better (and more sick and twisted) every week! It is one of the only tv shows, especially on cable, with  an amazing horror/cult element. It works because the mastermind that created Scream is behind it. A loAnother Kevin Williamson project I am going to fall in love with. Every week it is like a mini thriller movie. Really well done, and scary! I almost can’t believe it’s on network television! It kind of gets under your skin! I have already had nightmares about it, and that stuff doesn’t usually bother me!  Can’t wait for next week’s episode!

The cat-and-mouse game between Ryan Hardy and Joe Carroll may be the core of the show, but what is really fascinating about this cult drama are its scene-stealing trio of acolytes — and the twisted love triangle a-brewin’ among them.

Emma (played by Valorie Curry) is the ringleader of Carroll’s merry band of followers, which currently consists of her boyfriend Jacob (Nico Tortorella) and his “boyfriend” Paul (Adan Canto). (Told you it was twisted!) Check out the video below to watch the three actors dissect the unusual dynamic their characters share — plus get a preview of what’s next. As Tortorella teases: “When you have three sadistic, cult-serial killers living in a house together, one thing’s bound to lead to the next.”

Read more about Emma, Jacob and Paul, and view the video below where the actors talk more about the triangle happening on The Following.

Leave a Reply

